Let Your Constructive Criticism Be Constructive.

Up until now, I have been just writing about things concerning the Nintendo Switch on this blog. The reason for that is that I have been playing it and interested in it lately. It isn’t all I write about, though.

I used to write for a small gaming website that was Christian based. Today I want to share with all of you the truth of gaming communities and how they can tear down a critic. SO I ask you to just listen to what I am saying and try and understand how you can be better at critiquing others and commenting online.

Writing about games is hard. You have a lot of work you have to do. There is a lot of research and time put into almost every post, video, and podcast. Between research, writing, and editing, it used to take me about three hours for each news article I wrote, even more for reviews and opinion articles. I also had to get them all vetted through the editor. I would spend somewhere between nine – twelve hours a day just working on articles outside of playing games and working on public relations.

I would spend somewhere between nine – twelve hours a day just working on articles outside of playing games and working on public relations. I can tell you all that one of the hardest and annoying things with this was the community. Specifically, the commentors were bad. They were not just bad, though, they were like cancer. They fed off my posts and tried to draw attention to themselves and their agendas and contributed nothing worthwhile to the discussion.

The fact that the community was “Christian” made it worse. Comments were made up inane arguments about one subject or another that is in games. Everything from magic to violence would stir up controversy. The biggest issue was that none of the people actually wanted to argue and consider others opinions. It was all based on bullshit “theological” reasons with little to no Biblical basis.

So why do I write this? I write it for you. If you are planning to be some form of writer or critic this kind of thing will happen and you will have to deal with it. You will have to learn to get through it. You will either rise above it or be crushed by it. For those of you who do not write articles, though, I have but one request. Be constructive in your criticism. Think things through and consider their implications before commenting people put a lot of time and effort into their articles and you should respect that. Do unto others as you would have them do to you.

So how do you apply this to gaming? Well, apply it next time you are going to comment on your favorite review site or Youtube. If you write you should even consider it when critiquing games. There is no reason to make issues and drama just for the sake of issues and drama. It really will not kill you to be nice or to just not comment.

Leave a Reply

